Learning How

How lost I feel. How being 20 has brought me to see myself as a singular entity drawn in opposition to the world. How I feel part of something much larger than myself at the same time.

How at 16 I saw a video recording of a Black man being killed by police officers. How I do not even remember which man it was. How it is commonplace to wake up each morning to photos of new injustices inflicted in old ways. How close the internet brings us to suffering everywhere. How we are all being made to stare at it all straight on. How powerful that is.

How I only recently realized I’ve almost never thought about my whiteness. How I’ve begun to unlearn everything that I know. How the education provided to me by the state has failed me in many ways. How passivity is ignorance and learning is growth.

How long the path is for some and how short it is for others.

Cas

Leave a comment